Consequences of Being Cited
Unfortunately, if you receive a traffic ticket for a moving violation, such as going over the posted speed limit or running a stop sign (VC – 22350, 22349, or 22450), you could be facing some major consequences. Unlike a ticket for vehicle equipment failure, moving violations cannot be corrected. Important facts that you should know about these tickets include:
- The fine is often expensive.
- You can have a point added to your driver’s license record.
- Your insurance rate will likely increase.
When getting a ticket for any type of moving violation, you want to fight the charge and the fine.
Keeping Points off Your Record
If you have received a letter from the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) regarding four points on your driver’s license or a suspended license, you may be able to avoid costly consequences by fighting back.
Fight as Opposed to Paying
In most cases, people will pay a traffic ticket rather than fight it. This usually results in two consequences:
- A point is automatically added to your driver’s license.
- Your insurance rates will probably increase.
For those reasons, we strongly recommend that you fight your traffic ticket instead of giving in. That way, you can avoid unwanted points and keep your insurance rates down. If you have a point on your driver’s license, you can always attend traffic school every 18 months to have it removed and the ticket wiped off your record.
Four Points and Suspended License
Instead of fighting back or going to traffic school, many people never think twice about having three or four points on their driver’s license. However, you need to remember that when the following applies, the DMV may decide to suspend your license up to six months.
- Four points within a single year
- Six points in a two-year period
- Eight points in a three-year period
Once the California DMV learns that you have four points on your license, it will send you a letter that indicates the intention of suspending your driving privileges for up to six months. Immediately upon receiving the letter, you need to contact the DMV and request a hearing. If you make the request quickly, there is a good chance of saving your license. For help with this, call us at 844-999-9987.
Racking up Points
Points are applied to your driver’s license when certain traffic violations occur. If the ticket is for a moving violation, the DMV will put one to two points on your record. According to the law, a moving violation consists of the law being violated by the driver while the vehicle is in motion. Non-moving violations, including a broken tail light, no front plate, parking in a no-parking zone, and so on, will not result in points. While there are strict laws in California about cellphone use, talking on a cellphone will not result in a point being added to your driver’s license, although you can be ticketed.
- Typically, any ticket involving a moving violation, such as running a stop sign or speeding, will result in the DMV adding one point to your license.
- If you are in an accident and are the at-fault driver, a point is added to your DMV record.
- If traffic tickets in other states are discovered by the California DMV, they will result in a one-point addition.
- The DMV will put two points on your license for such events as a hit and run, DUI, driving more than 100 miles per hour, and driving on a suspended license.
Other Helpful Information
- DMV Hold
- Suspended License
- DMV Hearing
- Points on Your License
- Traffic School
For traffic tickets in Los Angeles County, Crush My Ticket Law Firm can help. By calling 844-999-9987, you have the chance to speak directly to an experienced traffic defense attorney who will help fight your case so that you can avoid paying a hefty fine and having a bad driver’s record.