A DUI, or “Driving Under the Influence” of drugs or alcohol, is a very serious offense. If you have been pulled over and arrested for this particular crime, you need to be aware of a few critical pieces of information.
- Once arrested for a DUI, you have just 10 days to request a hearing with the California DMV.
- You need to obtain a copy of your police report and then thoroughly read it.
- Most importantly, it is essential that you know your rights after an arrest for DUI.
- Learn about your different options for court so that you can make an informed decision regarding resolution of your DUI case.
Following an arrest for DUI, there are four critical steps to take. By visiting www.dui-california-arrest.com, you can learn this information and more.
You also have the right to contact our law firm by calling 844-999-9987. If your arrest took place in Los Angeles County, we can obtain a stay and request a DMV hearing on your behalf. WARNING: It must be done within 1o days of your arrest for DUI.
Los Angeles DUI Attorney
For professional legal assistance when dealing with a DUI, we can be reached at 844-999-9987 during business hours on Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. To reach our office after hours, we provide our operators available 24/7. Whether calling during or after normal business hours, with our free, no-obligation consultations, you have the opportunity to speak directly to an attorney that specializes in DUI cases. We also speak Russian Spanish and Armenian. Se habla Español.
The Impact a DUI Has on Your License
Typically, a first-time DUI will result in your driver’s license being suspended for one month. After that, you have the right to apply for a five-month restricted license.
Restricted Driver’s License
If this is your first DUI, you can usually get a restricted license after having your driver’s license suspended for a month. However, this is only an option if you take certain steps.
- You must enroll in a DUI class for first-time offenders.
- You are required to file an SR-22 form with the DMV, which shows proof of insurance.
- You have to pay a fee to the DMV to have your driver’s license reissued.
If you are pulled over and arrested a second time for a DUI, the penalties are stiffer. In this case, if the DUI occurs within a 10-year period from any other DUI conviction, you will lose your driver’s license for a full year. During that year, there is no opportunity to get a restricted license.
Our DUI website provides more detailed information on DUIs and restricted licenses.
Fortunately, you would not face any jail time on a first DUI offense unless there was some type of aggravating circumstance. For more information on what constitutes an “aggravated DUI,” please visit our DUI website.
If you are at risk for going to jail on a DUI, you need to contact us immediately. We have a long history of helping people with alternatives to the Los Angeles County Jail. Sometimes, we can keep you out of jail completely. Other times, you might be required to stay overnight in jail but be released during the day to work. More information about DUI jail time is also provided on our DUI website.
Drinking and Driving Under the Age of 21
The Zero Tolerance Law
Today, many states have adopted the zero-tolerance law for people under the age of 21 who get caught drinking and driving, including the state of California. For this scenario, the amount of alcohol in the blood does not matter. In other words, if blood or breath results come back as 0.01, 0.02, 0.03, 0.04, 0.05, 0.06, 0.07, 0.08, or even higher, your driver’s license will be revoked by the DMV for one year.
Also, see Minor in Possession of Alcohol
n addition, if the minor is impaired and leaves the home, he/she subjects him/herself to possible charges under
- California’s DUI laws that pertain to minors under 21 which include
- California Vehicle Code 23136 VC: California’s Zero Tolerance Law (a civil offense)
- California Vehicle Code 23140 VC: Under 21 DUI with a BAC of 0.05% – 0.07% (an infraction), or
- California Vehicle Code 23152a VC: Driving Under the Influence (a misdemeanor),
In this case, your only option is to apply for what is called a DMV “critical need restricted license.” With that, you may be granted permission to drive to and from work or school. For legal advice pertaining to drunk driving under the age of 21, please contact us at 844-999-9987.
You can also learn the steps to take when your vehicle has been impounded.
Driving on a DUI Suspended License (VC 14601.2)
Choosing to drive while your license was suspended for a DUI is a very serious offense. Because of this, the law imposes at a minimum the following for a traffic ticket violation with a suspended license:
- 10 days in the Los Angeles County Jail
- Installation of an ignition interlock device
- A $1,000 fine
- Two points on your driver’s license record
Especially in a case like this, you need to do everything possible to avoid any of these stiff punishments and to get your driver’s license reinstated.
Reputable Los Angeles DUI Attorney
We are here to help.
- You need to become educated about DUI offenses and penalties by visiting our DUI website at www.dui-california.arrest.com.
- Call us immediately at 844-999-9987 so that you have the opportunity to speak directly with an experienced DUI attorney.
If you're looking for an excellent team, they are the place to go. I hired them first time couple years ago and I'm very thankful for their attitude. 100% professionals. A lot of friends of mine used their services after that, everyone was happy. Highly recommendArmen Mamulyan
...most persistent and reliable team in Los Angeles. I had 5 cases and they were all dismissed thanks to their hard and diligent work! Highly recommend this team for all your traffic court needs. Extremely professional and always available to answer any questions and advice needed...Elisabeth Starr
Amazing!!! I highly recommend for all your traffic court needs. Professional and helpful! Will use them again, if needed...Lindsay Spector
I really like this Law Group.They very professional,trustful loyal people.Knowing exactly what they doing and best possible outcome always..They really defend you with high level of professionalism .I own them a lot of Thanx.....And highly recommend they services...Janet Ivanova
...very professional and courteous, and a great all around person to talk to. Got my ticket outright dismissed. I would definitely recommend contacting these guys (and Dave especially) for your traffic law needs. If they don't beat your ticket, and I'm sure they will, you'll at least have a pleasurable conversation and save some money.Andrey Lutsenko